Do I Have to Live in New Jersey to File for Divorce in New Jersey?

I have quoted the statute below that determines whether two people can get a divorce in New Jersey based on their residency.

1. When, at the time the cause of action arose, either party was a bona fide resident of this State, and has continued so to be down to the time of the commencement of the action; except that no action for absolute divorce shall be commenced for any cause other than adultery, unless one of the parties has been for the 1 year next preceding the commencement of the action a bona fide resident of this State; or

2. When, since the cause of action arose, either party has become, and for at least 1 year next preceding the commencement of the action has continued to be, a bona fide resident of this State. (New Jersey Statutes – Title 2 A – Chapters: 34-8, 34.10)

Basically translated, this means that if one of the two spouses is a resident of New Jersey, and either has been for a year before the filing for divorce, or for a year before the “cause of action” arose (whatever is complained of to cause the divorce), then the divorce can be filed in New Jersey.

Comments are closed.